Statement on the changed TPV Policy

Effective Friday, February 24th 2012, Linden Lab has added the following clauses to the Third Party Viewer Policy:

2.a.iii : You must not provide any feature that circumvents any privacy protection option made available through a Linden Lab viewer or any Second Life service.

2.i : You must not display any information regarding the computer system, software, or network connection of any other Second Life user.

2.j : You must not include any information regarding the computer system, software, or network connection of the user in any messages sent to other viewers, except when explicitly elected by the user of your viewer.

2.k : You must not provide any feature that alters the shared experience of the virtual world in any way not provided by or accessible to users of the latest released Linden Lab viewer.

I have reviewed the above changes, had some discussion with my colleagues and find the following:

  • As far as sections 2.a.iii, 2.i and 2.j are concerned, the Dolphin Viewer 3 does not contain any features that violate those sections.
  • As for section 2.k, the only feature that would have violated this clause was Qarl Fizz’s Mesh Deformer, which was removed from Dolphin 3 in the last release due to the fact that  it simply didn’t work  well in its current iteration.

Therefore, based on my understanding of the above policy changes, the Dolphin Viewer 3 remains compliant with Linden Lab’s Third Party Viewer policy.

Dolphin Viewer 3 – 3.2.8.23163

Here’s the newest release of the Dolphin Viewer 3.

New in 3.2.8.23163:

  • Qarl’s mesh deformer code has been removed, more trouble then it’s worth in version 0.1. It will go back in when issues are ironed out.
  • Webkit libraries on linux have been updated to the same version 4.7.1 as is used on Windows and Mac OS X.
  • Web profiles now start at the feed again, and work more reliably on linux.
  • It is possible now to use any key on your keyboard as a hotkey for a gesture. Great for sailing, flying, operating complex vehicles and so on.

The downloads are on the download page as usual.

Dolphin Viewer 3 – 3.2.7.23154

Here’s the next release of the Dolphin Viewer 3 – I am happy to announce that the Flickr Uploader is finally back!

The full list of changes:

  • Flickr Uploader is working again
  • CTRL-W closes windows again
  • HUD attachments can be full bright and shiny again
  • the “Miscellaneous” tab in Preferences has been squeezed a bit to make the “Rez with Land Group” check box accessible again
  • doubleclick on HUD attachments does not trigger Teleport or Autopilot anymore
  • scripted dialog boxes resize themselves to adjust for the amount of text in them

The downloads are on the download page, as always.

Dolphin Viewer 3 – 3.2.6.24131

Not too many new things in this release, but there are a couple of subtle improvements “under the hood” that my wife would have me castrated for if I held them back for much longer…

  • A few debug settings have been changed by default: “Disable Camera Constraints” is now on by default, “Limit Select Distance” and “Limit Move Distance” are now off by default.
  • The Windows version is now “Large Address Aware”. This has no impact on anyone other than people using the Dolphin Viewer 3 on 64-Bit Windows systems with more than 4 GB of memory installed, where it makes the viewer use up to 4 GB instead of the previous limit of 2GB. Should help a bit to make things less crashy.
  • The Windows version now runs on SSE2-enabled code. Should improve performance a bit, no idea why Linden Labs didn’t think of this one and the previous one – it should be included in the official viewer.
  • The align tool has been updated to reflect what is going on with it in CodeReview. No impact for the user, but it will make things easier for me later.
  • Finally, the jumping inventory bug has been fixed by the people over at FireStorm. If you keep a strict order and logic in your inventory by sorting your stuff, you know what I mean. If you don’t, you should – trust me.
  • The per-user settings get saved earlier in the logout process now, and only when the login was actually successful. This should fix the problem of some per-user settings getting reset to the defaults all of a sudden.

The downloads are in the usual place.